Sun forms OpenSolaris Advisory Board

Posted by Bill Bradford on Apr 4, 2005

Sun today announced the names of the five individuals selected to participate in the OpenSolaris Community Advisory Board (CAB). The Community Advisory Board was created to steward the evolution of the OpenSolaris community towards self-governance.

The five member board consists of two members who were nominated and elected by the OpenSolaris pilot community: Al Hopper, engineer consultant, Logical Approach; and Rich Teer, independent Solaris consultant and author of “Solaris Systems Programming”. The three other members on the advisory board are Roy Fielding, chief scientist at Day Software and co-founder and member, the Apache Software Foundation; Simon Phipps, chief technology evangelist, Sun; and Casper Dik, senior staff engineer, Sun.

As outlined in Jan., Sun plans to release buildable source code for the Solaris 10 OS under the Common Development and Distribution License (CDDL) in the second quarter of 2005. Background on the five CAB members and information about the OpenSolaris community, can be found at

Comments are closed.