[rescue] whois advice needed

Robert Darlington rdarlington at gmail.com
Tue Aug 28 13:27:44 CDT 2012

Block their dns's at your firewall.

On Tue, Aug 28, 2012 at 12:10 PM, Scott Newell <newell+rescue at n5tnl.com> wrote:
> This is a weird one, but I figured someone here has probably seen it before.
> It appears that dotster has copied my domain's nameserver config into
> someone else's domain.  Since the whois for _their_ domain is now returning
> _my_ nameserver config, I'm seeing lots of requests for a zone that I don't
> handle.  Weird huh?
> I called dotster Sunday and explained the situation, but they've not
> corrected it.  (I also sent an email to someone that may or may not be the
> tech contact for the domain.)  I think that maybe since I don't own the
> fubar'd domain, they're not too concerned about fixing it.
> Surely there's a method for reporting this sort of thing?  (I bet you could
> DOS a small DNS server pretty quickly if you listed it as authoritative for
> google or facebook...)
> Ideas?
> --
> newell  N5TNL
> _______________________________________________
> rescue list - http://www.sunhelp.org/mailman/listinfo/rescue

More information about the rescue mailing list