[rescue] anyone else here on AT&T Broadband (now Comcast) ?

Curtis H. Wilbar Jr. rescue at hawkmountain.net
Tue Apr 1 12:42:11 CST 2003

Guess it is not the MAPS DUL... here is the error:

... while talking to mailin-03.mx.aol.com.:
<<< 550-The IP address you are using to connect to AOL is an IP address owned
<<< 550-by ATTBI/Comcast and is either open to the free relaying of e-mail,
<<< 550-is serving as an open proxy, or is a dynamic (residential) IP address.
<<< 550-AOL cannot accept further e-mail transactions from your server until
<<< 550-either your server is closed to free relaying/proxy, or your provider
<<< 550-removes your IP address from their list of dynamic IP addresses.  For
<<< 550-additional information, please visit http://postmaster.info.aol.com
<<< 550-or contact your network support organization at
<<< 550-security_ldc at cable.comcast.com.
<<< 550 Goodbye

So it may be their own DUL.

I did a quick test teleting to smtp.comcast.net and sent a test mail
but it still hasn't arrived yet... but it did seem to accept it.

Guess I could use something to the tune of:

aol.com		smtp:[smtp.comcast.net]

in the appropriate sendmail map. That way I can go direct and when I find
mailservers that give me problems I can build these rules in.

-- Curt

>From: Mike Meredith <mike at blackhairy.demon.co.uk>
>To: The Rescue List <rescue at sunhelp.org>, Mike Johnson <mike at enoch.org>, 
"Curtis H. Wilbar Jr." <rescue at hawkmountain.net>
>Subject: Re: [rescue] anyone else here on AT&T Broadband (now Comcast) ?
>Date: Tue, 1 Apr 2003 18:12:23 +0000
>User-Agent: KMail/1.5.1
>Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
>Content-Disposition: inline
>X-Scanner: exiscan for exim4 (http://duncanthrax.net/exiscan/) 
>On Tuesday 01 April 2003 3:14 pm, Mike Johnson wrote:
>> Curtis H. Wilbar Jr. [rescue at hawkmountain.net] wrote:
>> > I run my own mailserver (yeah, I know they don't want you doing
>> > this) and it has always been great... almost no problems to speak
>> > of.
>> >
>> > Today I tried sending mail to an @aol.com address....
>> http://www.mail-abuse.org/dul/
>> Note the 'If you are a COMCAST customer' line.
>Funny ... according to the copy of MAPS+ I have access to, COMCAST isn't 
>listed (or my script is broken). I guess the "contact COMCAST" might 
>mean some people are saying it's in DUL when it isn't (i.e. being 
>blocked with a local BL). There are people who block based on certain 
>wildcards and *client* could be one of them.
>> This seems to be a recent development of AOL and RoadRunner (there
>> was a lot of discussion about this on our local LUG list).  Noone
>> seemed to have an answer for sure, but it certainly looks like AOL
>> recently started using the DUL, or something like it.
>The list of people who block 'dynamic' netblocks is growing daily. If 
>you don't want to relay all your mail through your ISP's server you 
>will have to setup manual relaying for some domains. You might want to 
>check the Exim mailing list archives (somewhere on www.exim.org) as I 
>believe someone sent a message to the list containing a list of domains 
>you should relay through your ISP's mail server.

More information about the rescue mailing list